Micronesia Civil Legal Aid

Civil legal aid providers, and related organizations, information sources and press clips from this geographical area. If you see something in your area that you think we should consider editing or adding, please contact us

About Micronesia

LSC grants funds to the region Micronesia, which are then subdivided to serve: Northern Mariana Islands (a US territory), Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau.

Micronesia is a region of thousands of small islands in the western Pacific Ocean. It includes three U.S. territories: Guam, Northern Marianas, and Wake Island. (Wake Island has 150 people and is run by the US Air Force.) This site follows Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in treating Micronesia as one geographical area.

Politically, the rest of Micronesia is divided among 5 sovereign countries — one of which being the Federated States of Micronesia, which is usually also called simply “Micronesia” for short, though it is important not to confuse the country with the overall region which englobes it as well as islands belonging to five other sovereign countries. Aside from the country Micronesia, the Micronesia region encompasses 4 other sovereign, independent nations: Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, and Palau, as well as the three U.S. territories.

Civil Legal Aid Providers Related to This Geographic Area

Guam Legal Services Corporation – Disability Law Center (GLSC-DLC) -- Founded 1979, independent nonprofit that provides civil legal aid and disability law services.

Micronesian Legal Services Corporation (MLSC) -- Established 1970. Provides civil legal aid in Micronesia. The organization's website is a lawhelp site created with help from Pro Bono Net.

Other Information Sources

LSC state grantee profile: LSC-Funded Programs in Micronesia